Below and on Top

Edward Dyson

Regular price $22.00 Sale

Format: paperback
Edition: First published in 1898 by George Robertson and Co.
148 pages
ISBN: 9781920897598

Publication: 01 Jan 2006
Series: SUP Classics
Publisher: Sydney University Press

Below and On Top was published in 1898 and is a collection of short stories about mining and life in the bush. It contains Dyson's most famous story the classic "The Golden Shanty" as well as the stories:

  • Below and On Top
  • Sabbath Morn at Waddy
  • The Trucker's Dream
  • The Fossickers
  • At the Yards
  • A Visit to Scrubby Gully
  • A Golden Shanty
  • Hebe of Grasstree
  • A Zealot in Labour
  • The Washerwoman of Jacker's Flat
  • Dead Man's Load
  • After the Accident
  • Mr and Mrs Sin Fat
  • An Incident at the Old Pioneer
  • A Vain Sacrifice
  • Glover's Little Joke
  • A Child of Nature
  • The Whim Boy
  • Spicer's Courtship
  • The Conquering Bush
  • The Elopement of Mrs Peters
  • One Night
  • His Bad Luck

Edward Dyson (1865-1931) was born near Ballarat in Victoria and grew up in the bush and on the gold diggings. His experiences there enriched his later writings as a journalist and then freelance author.

Edward George Dyson (1865-1931) was a writer based in, and writing about, the Victorian goldfields. He contributed prose and poetry to the Bulletin and other publications of the time.

Of the true endeavour

  1. Below and on top
  2. A Sabbath morn at Waddy
  3. The trucker’s dream
  4. The fossickers
  5. At the yards
  6. A visit to Scrubby Gully
  7. A golden shanty
  8. Hebe of Grasstree
  9. A zealot in labour
  10. The washerwoman of Jacker’s Flat
  11. Dead man’s load
  12. After the accident
  13. Mr and Mrs Sin Fat
  14. An incident at the Old Pioneer
  15. A vain sacrifice
  16. Glover’s little joke
  17. A child of nature
  18. The whim boy
  19. Spicer’s courtship
  20. The conquering bush
  21. The elopement of Mrs. Peters
  22. One night
  23. His bad luck

Format: paperback
Size: 210 × 148 × 9 mm
148 pages
Copyright: © 2004
ISBN: 9781920897598
Publication: 01 Jan 2006
Series: SUP Classics