The Man from Snowy River and Other Verses

A.B. 'Banjo' Paterson

Regular price $22.95 Sale

Format: paperback
140 pages
ISBN: 9781920899035

Publication: 21 Jul 2009
Series: Australian Classics Library
Publisher: Sydney University Press

The Man from Snowy River and other Verses was published in 1895 and contains many of Paterson's most famous works, including the title poem which is regarded as one of the quintessential national narratives. Among other poems, the work includes "Clancy of the Overflow", "How Gilbert Died", "A Bush Christening", "In Defence of the Bush" and "The Man from Ironbark". This new edition of The Man from Snowy River and other Verses, with an introduction by Peter Kirkpatrick, is a part of the Australian Classics Library series intended to make classic texts of Australian literature more widely available for the secondary school and undergraduate university classroom, and to the general reader. The series is co-edited by Emeritus Professor Bruce Bennett of the University of New South Wales and Professor Robert Dixon, Professor of Australian Literature at the University of Sydney, in conjunction with SETIS, Sydney University Press, AustLit and the Copyright Agency Limited. Each text is accompanied by a fresh scholarly introduction and a basic editorial apparatus drawn from the resources of AustLit. A.B. (Andrew Barton) Paterson (1864-1941) was born near Orange in New South Wales and achieved fame as a short story, ballad and legend writer, drawing on his experiences growing up near Yass. He is the major folk poet of Australian literature, publishing many books of verse, short stories and two novels.

Andrew Barton (Banjo) Paterson (1864-1941) was a solicitor, journalist, war correspondent and soldier as being widely recognised as a poet.

Peter Kirkpatrick

The Man from Snowy River and Other Verses
1. The man from Snowy River
2. Old Pardon, the son of Reprieve
3. Clancy of the Overflow
4. Conroy’s Gap
5. Our new horse
6. An idyll of Dandaloo
7. The Geebung Polo Club
8. The travelling post office
9. Saltbush Bill
10. A mountain station
11. Been there before
12. The man who was away
13. The man from Ironbark
14. The Open Steeplechase
15. The amateur rider
16. On Kiley’s Run
17. Frying Pan’s theology
18. The two Devines
19. In the droving days
20. Lost
21. Over the range
22. Only a jockey
23. How M’Ginnis went missing
24. A voice from the town
25. A bunch of roses
26. Black swans
27. The all right ’un
28. The boss of the ‘Admiral Lynch’
29. A bushman’s song
30. How Gilbert died
31. The flying gang
32. Shearing at Castlereagh
33. The wind’s message
34. Johnson’s antidote
35. Ambition and art
36. The daylight is dying
37. In defence of the bush
38. Last week
39. Those names
40. A bush christening
41. How the favourite beat us
42. The great calamity
43. Come-by-chance
44. Under the shadow of Kiley’s Hill
45. Jim Carew
46. The Swagman’s Rest

About the author
Selective bibliography of the published works of A.B. Paterson

Format: paperback
Size: 210 × 148 × 5 mm
140 pages
Copyright: © 2009
ISBN: 9781920899035
Publication: 21 Jul 2009
Series: Australian Classics Library